Tobacco Free DeKalb

“DeKalb County will, once again, lead the state in reducing tobacco use. The execution of this project will improve the health of DeKalb residents and put forward new and innovative strategies to advance public health.”

June Deen

American Lung Association

in Georgia and South Carolina


DeKalb County is the most densely populated county in Georgia with a suburban/urban area of 268 square miles and a population of 747,274.

Located in the northeast region of metro Atlanta, DeKalb includes ten incorporated cities and is one of the most ethnically diverse counties in the southeastern United States.

DeKalb ranks second in Georgia in total labor force and attracts a labor force of 1.4 million from six metro area counties. In 2005 nearly 25,000 businesses were licensed in the county, employing more than 360,000 people. DeKalb’s diverse industry base includes a strong presence in manufacturing, retail, construction, trade, finance, engineering, and management. More than half of the FORTUNE 500 companies with a presence in metro Atlanta have operations in DeKalb. DeKalb’s largest employers are Delta Air Lines, Emory University, Wal-Mart and AT&T.

DeKalb’s personal income is the third highest in Georgia, 14% above the state average. DeKalb is home to the nation’s second most affluent African-American population.

DeKalb County is Georgia’s most culturally diverse county with over 64 spoken languages. In recent years, 80% of the refugees in Georgia have resettled in DeKalb. Seventeen percent of the residents are foreign born and 18% primarily speak a language other than English at home.

DeKalb’s population is 54% African American, 35% White, 9% Hispanic, and 4% Asian.

The county public school system is the third largest in the state with an enrollment of 102,000 students and 13,285 full-time employees. Of these students, 75% are African American, 10% White, 8% Hispanic, and 3% Asian. Over half (64%) of the students are eligible for free or reduced price meals.

Metro Atlanta, the nation’s tenth largest metro area, ranks sixth nationally for students enrolled full time in area colleges and universities and for total degrees conferred, according to the Atlanta Regional Consortium for Higher Education. DeKalb County is home to many of these college students. Emory University and Georgia Perimeter College represent a total enrollment of over 50,000 students combined. Agnes Scott College, Columbia Theological Seminary, DeKalb Technical College, DeVry University, Le Cordon Bleu College, Mercer University, Oglethorpe University and The Art Institute of Atlanta are all also located within DeKalb.

DeKalb’s park system includes 131 parks that extend across 6,000 acres and include 158 ball fields, 151 playgrounds, 105 tennis courts, 90 pavilions, 11 recreational fields and 2 golf courses.